top of page
Search

March 17 Slice of Life

To Invisalign or Not to Invisalign That is the Question


I decided to go the path of clear aligners and am on the other side.

Similar to how I felt about having children where I wondered WHY DIDN'T ANYONE TELL ME, I put teeth correction as an adult in the same category.


I feel compelled to write— to anyone one who might be on the fence—what I wish someone had told me.


Pictured above is my LAST set of aligners, which is the first point I wish to make. The duration of wearing these babies was double what I was initially told. Six months turned into one year and canvassing friends, family, and colleagues, I found out that all of them had the same experience.


Also know that when it is all done, it isn't. Wearing a set made of stronger plastic is required for every night and for the rest of your life. I was given four sets on my last official visit and that should last me four years. I asked how much it will cost when I need to replenish and the technician did not have an answer, so I still don't know. I am in unchartered water right now as to what maintenance means as the years progress.


Having my teeth whitened at the end of active treatment was offered at a disounted price of $390. If I could turn back the clock, I wouldn't have done it. Wow, it hurt. It hurt for two days, and my face felt traumatized. I had an allergic reaction to the goop and my eyes puffed up. I did not think to ask how long the whitening lasts. I was shocked to hear two months at best, less if you drink coffee or tea. I AM NEVER GOING THROUGH THAT AGAIN!


When I was a first-time mom, I did not appreciate the unexpected pain and travails of birth and caring for a newborn, but I was smitten by the outcome. The lifechange is certainly less with adult braces, but similarly, the pain is worth the gain. I am very happy with my functioning bite, my smile, and the overall improvement in dental health. For those of us who grind our teeth at night, wearing the aligners at night is a godsend.


So, to Invisalign or Not to Invisalign, my answer is go for it if you have healthcare reasons for doing so. It is expensive but I planned ahead and used Flexible Spending Account monies and didn't feel the pinch. It is a commitment, but it continues to pay off in many ways and for years to come.





7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

March 30 Slice of Life

Crazy Sock Day --- comin' up! I'm the teacher who gets to school on Halloween and has to borrow an elf hat or jingle bell necklace from another teacher or on Valentine's Day rifflles through the facul

March 29 Slice of Life

Thank you Amy Spitzer for your piece Finding the Things from your blog Living Workshop and to Jenna Komarin for bringing it to our attention on this 29th day of Slice of Life. What do I find beautifu

bottom of page