top of page
Search

March 18 Slice of Life


Phone in hand I walked into my local town to take photos to capture something about it to share. I found it in the local shop windows, student art on display. I am a sucker for kids' art. I had trouble taking photos without promiment reflections of myself or the buildings behind me showing up. Then it hit me. Call the photo essay "Reflections of My Town" and embrace the double imaging.


Photo Essay Part 1

The Villlage of Bronxville holds an annual event called Spring Into the Arts celebrating student artists with installations of artwork from the local school in shops around the village. (Below) This art by a high school student is being featured in the town's popular candy store from March 13-26. The art is nestled in the cuddlly Easter display and reflects a landmark building.



Also by a high school student, the art below is in a fashion store and reflects the photographer and a tree that represents the town's love of and commitment to flora. Over 39 stores are participating, and I am not surprised that these particular participants are graciously supporting the students—they have been part of our community fabric for as long as I can remember. The room depicted by the artist made me smile; it is typical of Bronxville homes.


As I stood at the piece below, two high school girls stopped to photograph it, too. They know the artist and wanted to make sure to get him a photo of his work on display. They told me they thought this was a fantastic gesture by the town and that its been done for many years.

Tomorrow, in Part 2, work from elementary age artists.

16 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

March 30 Slice of Life

Crazy Sock Day --- comin' up! I'm the teacher who gets to school on Halloween and has to borrow an elf hat or jingle bell necklace from another teacher or on Valentine's Day rifflles through the facul

March 29 Slice of Life

Thank you Amy Spitzer for your piece Finding the Things from your blog Living Workshop and to Jenna Komarin for bringing it to our attention on this 29th day of Slice of Life. What do I find beautifu

bottom of page