top of page
Search

March 23 Slice of Life

I am friggin' amazed at all that happens in one day!#?

Writing a Sllice of Life daily has made me pay attention to my own life. What a roller coaster ride each day is.


Here are the events of today, Thursday.


7AM - I learn that I am hosting a party for family at my house on Sunday for the wife of a deceased cousin who is on a train now traveling from North Dakota to Pougheepise, NY, for her grandaughter's graduation from the Culinary Institute of America. And she will be staying in our guest room....and she doesn't have a return ticket. What does that mean? How long will she be here? Drop it. It's time to get to school.


8AM - Thank god the meeting between the French and the American teachers was ignored by all. I am late! Passive Aggressive Meeting Disruption. I love IT!


9:30 - I learn a student's Dad is on his death bed. Lilou came to school and a family friend is on the way to pick her up. I work out a plan to get all the kids out of the room so the girl can pack up her things in privacy. We're in the llibrary and at least four kids ask to pop back to the classroom for needed items; I uncharacteristically say NO. They will never know that beginning our unit on book review writing was never meant to be launched this way. I can't put myself in Lilou's shoes right now; the day is still young.


Noon - The tsunami looming is teaching grade 4 from 12:30 to 3pm. I am working out the details of a collaborative social studies activity to cap off our unit on Colonial America. A turkey sandwich on Eziekiel bread is going down my gullet to my stomach without me even noticing.


2:30 - The collaborative activity is a distaster, or should I say a learning experience for me to unpack and learn from. [Yeah, right.] My tinnitus is flaring up. The clock is crawling. I have dismissal duty and am not sure which classroom I have hung my coat.


3:05 - I'm in the car and on my way to the doctors in the city and parking in NYC and learning what action I need to take about my nasal polyps. BUMMER! My options are surgery; biologics, or limp along as I have been. CRAP. I leave the office not asking the questions the fully present me would have asked. Should have asked. CRAP again.


5:00 - I pop into visit my daughter who lives close to the doctors office to drop off the packages that get delivered to our home [they would get stolen from her lobby], and learn more things about her youth that I care not to recall. My son-in-law has a cold. Please, please, please, let me be immune!


6:30 - NO TRAFFIC! I sail home. My dear husband has dinner ready, right on cue! He shows his love best through cooking, and I am basking in the love. We share quips about our day.


7:00 - He's off to gardener's meeting [you couldn't pay me!]. I am doing the dishes efficiently watching CBS News with John Dickerson with one eye. I finish watching him while I begin this blog.


8:00 - I have the time now to cry for Lilou.








8 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

March 30 Slice of Life

Crazy Sock Day --- comin' up! I'm the teacher who gets to school on Halloween and has to borrow an elf hat or jingle bell necklace from another teacher or on Valentine's Day rifflles through the facul

March 29 Slice of Life

Thank you Amy Spitzer for your piece Finding the Things from your blog Living Workshop and to Jenna Komarin for bringing it to our attention on this 29th day of Slice of Life. What do I find beautifu

bottom of page