top of page
Search

Slice of Life March 5



The Sunday Blues – need work/life balance be so difficult?


I’m up at 5:30 am and already thinking about how I can help a student write more fluently, when to begin prep for the upcoming standardized tests, moaning that another parent has emailed me to schedule a parent-teacher conference, and resenting that progress reports are due. I’ve taken Angela Watson’s 40 Hour Teacher Workweek course and still my job dominates my thoughts, actions, and life. Podcasts, articles, commiseration haven’t moved the needle much. The pivotal question is: Do I really want to move the needle? Yes, I do. And I know this means weakening my identification with who or what I have believed I’ve been or am, and this includes: TEACHER. The ladder out is not obscure; it is just not practiced enough, yet.


Today’s Richard Rohr Daily Meditation—blessedly found in my mailbox this morning—set my compass North again. “The reason we’re rushing into the future is because we’re not experiencing a wholeness in the present.” The Franciscan priest and writer on spirituality goes on to conclude, “As long as we think happiness is around the corner, it means that we have not grasped happiness yet. Because happiness is given in this moment and this place, and this moment and place are as perfect as they can be.”


This gig called teaching is certainly demanding of time and attention, but it is not the culprit, and I am not a victim. The difficulties and frustrations, the proddings and pokings of teaching bend my will to surrender to the moment. With the measure of success HAPPINESS, I’m all in. At this moment, the sun is new in the sky, my dog is stirring, letting me know it’s time to go for a walk, and I PRAY to be HERE today.


26 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All

March 30 Slice of Life

Crazy Sock Day --- comin' up! I'm the teacher who gets to school on Halloween and has to borrow an elf hat or jingle bell necklace from another teacher or on Valentine's Day rifflles through the facul

March 29 Slice of Life

Thank you Amy Spitzer for your piece Finding the Things from your blog Living Workshop and to Jenna Komarin for bringing it to our attention on this 29th day of Slice of Life. What do I find beautifu

bottom of page